PDA

View Full Version : Alright, the internet continues to fail me. Tech Support help PLEASE

morsdraconis
05-15-2012, 07:25 PM
Everytime I go to load a program that isn't a web browser or a few other things, I get this error:

'C:\Windows\system32\napinsp.dll is either not designed to run on Windows or it contains an error. Try reinstalling the program again using the originaal installation media or contact your system administrator or the software vendor for support'

And it says some shit about a "bad image" and then something related to the program that it's doing it during.

I've looked EVERYWHERE and already done the generally accepted way to fix it (running command prompt in administrative mode and typing "netsh winsock reset") without any effect to the issue at all. The accepted fix has something to do with not being able to connect to the internet, which I don't have a problem with at all.

I've been banging my head against this for a good two months on and off without anything helping. I'm about to say fuck it and reinstall Windows, but, apparently, sometimes it doesn't fix it either.

Any ideas?

JeffHCross
05-15-2012, 08:01 PM
When you say that a you can load a Web Browser, I'm going to take a wild guess that you're not using IE. What happens when you try to load IE? I'm trying to determine

Reinstalling Windows from scratch should certainly fix it. The mistake people probably make when reinstalling is that they don't clear off the previous version of Windows, so they wouldn't get a full clean install. That'd probably be the most sure-fire fix.

Resetting the winsock from the Command Prompt would only help if it was a setting or stuck port. If it's a corrupt DLL, I don't think netsh would be helpful at all. "In the Network and Sharing Center box, click Diagnose and Repair." might be worth a try though.

morsdraconis
05-15-2012, 08:33 PM