PDA

View Full Version : EA and their Football Titles - Thoughts on game design

lilblaze
03-11-2012, 03:56 PM
Can a moderator change the title to "EA and their Football Titles!" Please?

First off I am a college student studying to become a Software Engineer. (Makes video games)

I picked up a book called Fundamentals of Game Design and began reading. As I approached the Sports Games sections, I specifically looked for a football section... Come to find out, it's pretty much the basis of the whole chapter.

Here are some key things to note about EA and their football development team:

1. Madden is NOT REDESIGNED every year, nor is its code rewritten. Electronic Arts updates its artwork, video sequences and adds new features every year; only receiving a major overhaul every 4 to 5 years. Typically when a new console is launched. The majority of the design work each year consists of TUNING and IMPROVING the gameplay and adding MORE FEATURES.

2. In theory, the best, current football game available on the market today should be NCAA Football 12 and All-Pro Football 2k8. The reason I say this is because the largest, single design task that goes into DEVELOPING MADDEN is RESEARCH!

3. Players greatly enjoy setting up their own strategies, adjusting how the athletes will behave and what roles they will play in a team sport. This can be replicated following in 2k Basketball's foot steps. (Very similar to the Deny Ball/Play Tight defensive role settings. This can be implemented in Madden under a Coach Settings menu; accessible when the game is paused.)

4. During play, your game will be running a physics engine that DETERMINES THE BEHAVIOR OF MOVING BODIES in the match. (Think Psychic DB'S IS JUST BAD CODING? It's a failing Game Engine.. Frostbite 2 anyone???)