Thread: MLB The Show 17 Early Impressions

• Facebook
  • Display

MLB The Show 17 Early Impressions

I’ve been a Show veteran in the past. Played a ton from 06-09 and then got burnt out on the series feeling it wasn’t changing much. Bought it again in ’12 and had a lot of fun with the new Pulse Pitching as they added pitching options. After playing over 150 games I was burnt out once more and other than barely playing a used PS4 copy of the Show 14 I hadn’t really played it until this year when my wife bought me the Show 17 for my birthday.

After 10-12 games I feel this game is largely the same. Some things are different but the feel is the same and veterans will feel right at home. That means I still don’t like the base running controls and use auto running lol. In any event, these are my impressions after a decent amount of time with the game.

PRESENTATION & GRAPHICS
    Matt V is back and I’d like a change here. Maybe it’s change for change sake but he’s been the voice for too long. After hearing “One shortstop grounds out to the other” it can get old. Harold and Plesac are nice additions but it still feels like three individuals commenting on the game rather than a dynamic team working together. The commentary is fine but nowhere as good as MLB 2K was. Matty V has said a couple things wrong at times as well. He mentioned an error that was never scored. It wasn’t a good play but the ball never hit my infielder either and was never scored an error. I threw a wild pitch with 2 outs and the runner goes down to second. Matt says that hurts because it takes away the double play. Huh? There were two outs!

I feel like the in-game surround sound is too quiet. Don’t hear enough from the back speakers. The ball also lacks seams and texture. On foul balls around home it can look odd at first.