PDA

View Full Version : 4-2-5 discussion and specialized recruiting

amoore0192
07-08-2013, 07:32 PM
Hey guys, Im a long time reader here and long time member over at OS who decided to make the jump over here. I love talking Xs and Os as I am a current high school coach entering my second season. Just wanted to get your alls ideas and feedback on my system and style of play. Any tips on how you would stop/attack my systems would be great as it will help me get better as a player and play caller.

Defensivly I run what I call a Spur 40. Its a 40 front with strung run stoppers across the line, most dont get under 250 and I like both DTs as 300+ guys However, in a perfect situation I like using a pass rushing OLB as a RE. I call him a Leo and Hes also used as a ILB in my #$ look if he has the abilities. This player isnt a need but more of an asset. The ILB are closer to 3-4 ILBs than 4-3 Mikes. I like big backers who can play decent zone coverage but are more for playing between the tackles and downhill against the run. The FS has to be one of the best players on the field, I usually user control this player. In pass I play a lot of cvr3 or inverted2 when Im not in man. In most cases when running inverted2 I use the F to rob the strong side rt if anything comes inside, if not I just sink with #2 going deep. His run responsibilities are to run the alley, off the Spurs hip cleaning up any sweeps or anything that has broken containment. The Spurs are kind of hybrin S/LBs, they need to be able to cover adiquetly but also hold the edge against the run. Theyre assigned to the pitch man against option teams, the DE crashes on the QB while the DT/ILBs handle the FB. Theyre kind of tough to find in recruiting so I usually end up with one whos more of a S and one whos a better run stopper. The CBs are just asked to lock down the WR, run support isnt a priority at this position.

As far as a base look:
------------------------F
--C---------------------------------------------C