PDA

View Full Version : Difference between Cover 2 and Cover 2 Buc?

Cipher 8
07-13-2011, 11:44 AM
Sorry but my friend and I were wondering... is there something like how deep the corner line up that makes it different or is it basically same exact play? Sorry I'm not that good with actual football terminology.

strattjw
07-13-2011, 11:49 AM
Isn't Cover 2 Buc the Tampa 2. The MLB is playing deeper in his zone so he is almost at a deep zone depth to take away the post route. It's what the Colts and Bears run in the NFL.

Cover 2 would have the MLB playing a normal hook zone.

oweb26
07-13-2011, 01:09 PM
Isn't Cover 2 Buc the Tampa 2. The MLB is playing deeper in his zone so he is almost at a deep zone depth to take away the post route. It's what the Colts and Bears run in the NFL.

Cover 2 would have the MLB playing a normal hook zone.

:up: You are spot on.

I think Monte Kiffin and Tony Dungy brought it to mainstream because they virtually perfected it when they were coaching at tampa bay, hence the term Tampa 2.

Cipher 8
07-13-2011, 03:06 PM
So the MLB's zone is just deeper. Thanks guys I thought it had something to do with that dominant Buccaneers defense but I wasn't sure.

Cipher 8
07-13-2011, 03:29 PM
I imagine the Cover 2 Sink then is named that because the corners sink back instead of cover the flats (blue zones)?

morsdraconis
07-13-2011, 03:58 PM
I imagine the Cover 2 Sink then is named that because the corners sink back instead of cover the flats (blue zones)?

Yup.

irishfbfan1
07-13-2011, 04:10 PM
The cover 2's are really nice this year with improved zone coverage. You just have to make the proper adjustments from time to time to meet your needs. Cover 2 has always been my coverage of choice.

strattjw
07-14-2011, 10:09 AM
I find Cover 2 nice on early downs as it's stronger against the run since the Corners stay down in the flats.

littletomz
08-18-2011, 08:28 AM