PDA

View Full Version : Atlanta public school system is a fraudulent joke

ram29jackson
07-07-2011, 07:10 PM
no child left behind is getting worse - 44 school districts for 10 years, 800,000 documents of evidence, 80 confessions so far, do teachers deserve jail time?

http://www.cbsatlanta.com/story/15044133/atlanta

http://www.onlineschools.org/education-debate/fraud-and-corruption-cheating-in-atlanta-public-schools/

morsdraconis
07-07-2011, 07:56 PM
Wow, that's really fucked up.

I've always been a proponent of getting rid of that whole "no child left behind" bullshit.

texacotea
07-07-2011, 08:16 PM
Being a husband with a wife as a teacher, I agree with the no child left behind crap. Many times she wants to hold kids back only to have the principal move them up anyway. Obviously the teacher knows more about the kid than the principal does.

ram29jackson
07-07-2011, 08:35 PM
Being a husband with a wife as a teacher, I agree with the no child left behind crap. Many times she wants to hold kids back only to have the principal move them up anyway. Obviously the teacher knows more about the kid than the principal does.

this is worse than that but part of that problem as well, we are talking about 170 something teachers and admins falsifying standardized test scores to garner government funding for schools and districts

texacotea
07-07-2011, 08:39 PM
oh I know, she is a teacher in a title 1 school. This means that test scores mean everything, im not condoning what these teachers did but test scores are everything for a school

ram29jackson
07-07-2011, 09:11 PM
is this worth jail time for some ?

souljahbill
07-07-2011, 09:26 PM
It's a white collar crime but a crime nonetheless. As a teacher, I know how important test scores are. Test scores can determine federal and state funding so they stole a lot of money falsifying scores. Plus we now have lots of ill-equipped students who are now out in the world no doubt making babies as opposed to working on college degrees.