PDA

View Full Version : Real life QB reads that can be used in the game

whitepony99
04-15-2011, 06:33 AM
I know I know its been done a hundred times but for those who know me really know me and know what I do in real life understand this info is going to be valueable.

Little background info on me I started playing video games specifically NCAA aka Bill Walsh football back in the early 90's. Even back then at the early age of 10 I loved the air raid offense and ran it in a time when the Nebraska triple option was popular and the cliche term "spread" was not even heard of, however there was one who I watched on saturdays and his name was Hal Mumme. I loved the spread them out and wing it philosophy. Then at the age of 13 I had the opportunity to go to the "Ice Castle" aka Youngstown State University's home stadium and watch Steve "Air" Mcnair when he played for Alcorn State play against the Penguins. Once again I was amazed at how they spread the ball all over the field. I then had been playing football for 6 years and loved suiting up. High School years went by quick but a 3 year varsity starter at Inside Linebacker and Center earned me a D 1-A scholarship so I went to college for a year and had a career ending shoulder injury (still cant raise that arm over my head) so I ended up dropping out of college and working. Then I had a kid and as he got older he wanted to play football so I got into coaching, man do I love molding kids into ball players. Anyways 3 years of that and some old football buddies gave me a call to come up and coach at the High School level at my alma mater.

Sorry for the boring back story but it leads me to my main story 3 years of QB coaching at High School level coaching numerous coaching clinics and hours and hours of film study have led me to some basics of throwing the football.